Luke Ambler’s First Blog – The New Office Boy

This is my first blog for the club and I am looking forward to doing them on a weekly basis. They will vary from serious topics to funny things that have happened out on the training field. This first blog I am going to write comes to you from the office at the Shay Stadium, where I am starting my first day in the office. First thing you may be thinking is Luke Ambler, The prop, as Business Development Manager? That is a very good question. The board at Halifax after meeting me in an off field capacity have seen a positive for the organisation. Obviously for me it is a great opportunity and one I really want to get my teeth into and be successful. I have a NVQ in business and I am currently a trainee financial advisor, so I would like to think I have some sort of idea what I am doing.

My first day in the role of Business Development Manager has been really positive. For anyone who does not know the office team down at the club they are a great bunch of people. The team consisting of Sarah, Pete Emmett, Jenna, Richard and the three M’s: Mike, Malcom and Mick have all been really welcoming and helped me settle in to my new role. What they failed to tell me was that although hard working, it is a really relaxed and casual work place. I rocked up to the office this morning at 8:30am in my suit, to find only Mick in the office. Then the rest of the cavalry arrived all in smart casual gear. I felt a bit of a donut when they all walked in and looked over at me with the freshly ironed suit, which my Mum had just done. I suppose she will appreciate the 7am wakeup call I gave her this morning though making she was up to iron my suit.

Today has mostly be spent getting used to the office and the clever operating system the club uses to keep track of past and current sponsors. My role as Business Development Manager is to liaison with Pete Emmett who is Commercial Manger. We are going to work together to help raise the profile and revenue of the club both locally and hopefully nationally. We will do this through old and new initiatives. I have a few ideas up my sleeve, so fingers crossed I can put them into place.

I look forward to giving you my weekly blog, where I can give you an insight into not only the off field work but also the on field shenanigans. Any questions you have for me feel free to get in touch via my email address and I will be happy to help and answer any questions you may have, whether silly or funny! The best questions I will post in to my weekly blog for everyone to read!

P.S anyone has any potential sponsors either tell me or put them on to me, so I can show this lot in the office how it is really done. On a serious note they do a great job, but I won’t say no to any potential leads. I look forward to hearing from you all.

My email address is: luke@halifaxrlfc.co.uk

Luke Ambler

Mr Fax Editorial Note: Not a bad job Luke, no need to wear the suit on Sunday though – it may get dirty.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Luke Ambler’s First Blog – The New Office Boy”

  1. Jon Crowther Says:

    Good luck Luke, first job get those lads without a sponsor – SPONSORED!


Leave a comment